The One Thousand, One Hundred and Sixty Sixth Regular Meeting of the Lakeshore School Division Board held on Tuesday, February 13, 2024, at School Division Office

Members Present: Donny Thorkelson, Chairperson; Shaun Lindal, Vice Chairperson; Allison Moman; Marvin Coverdale; Tetiana Vasylieva; Teresa Johnson (online Teams)

Members Absent with Regret: Kelly Webb

Administrative Staff Present: Darlene Willetts, Superintendent/CEO, Donald Nikkel, Superintendent of HR; Arlene Brandson Darknell, Secretary-Treasurer, Mark Parkes, Director of Operations, and Infrastructure **Administrative Staff Absent with Regret:** None

- 1. Chairperson Donny Thorkelson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda

M24.02.188 M/S A. Moman, M. Coverdale that the agenda be adopted as presented.

Carried

Special Meetings reported on – none at this time

3. Adoption of the Minutes of the last Board Meeting

M24.02.189 M/S T. Vasylieva, A. Moman that the minutes of the 1165th Regular meeting held on Tuesday, January 30th, 2024 be adopted as presented.

Carried

4. Division Reports

Human Resources

- Hiring Charlene Platford, 100% Permanent Teacher at Fisher Branch Collegiate, effective September 03, 2024
- Hiring Nathan Lee, 100% Permanent Teacher at Fisher Branch Collegiate, effective September 03, 2024
- Hiring Nicole Yanke, 100% Permanent Teacher at Lundar Early Years School, effective September 03, 2024
- Hiring Breanna Malcolm, 100% Permanent Teacher at Lundar Early Years School, effective September 03, 2024
- Hiring Erin Bay, 100% Permanent Teacher at Ashern Early Years School, effective September 03, 2024
- Hiring Victoria Metner, 2nd Term 100% Teacher at Alf Cuthbert School, effective September 03, 2024, until June 30, 2025
- Hiring Susan Dann, 2nd Term 100% Teacher at Fisher Branch Early Years School, effective September 03, 2024, until June 30, 2025
- Hiring Delaney Appleyard, 2nd Term 100% Teacher at Fisher Branch Collegiate, effective September 03, 2024, until June 30, 2025
- Chelsey Ewasiuk, Casual EA & Substitute Teacher, effective February 06, 2024
- Hiring Jeremy Allen, 1st Term 100% Teacher at Eriksdale School, effective September 03, 2024, until June 30, 2025
- Hiring Ronella Valdez, Casual EA, effective February 07, 2024
- Hiring Aimee Schedler, Term Preschool Teacher at Alf Cuthbert School, 7.0 hours/week, effective February 20, 2024, until June 07, 2024

Decision Information – Required Approvals
.01 Secretary-Treasurer - Accounts Payable

- **M24.02.190** M/S M. Coverdale, T. Vasylieva that the following accounts payable cheques/direct debits and payroll vouchers be approved for payment;
 - OLC #0509 C.I.B.C. VISA, dated January 29, 2024, \$1,553.15
 - OLC #0510 Manitoba Blue Cross, dated February 01, 2024, \$25,252.20
 - Cheques 31109-31121, dated February 05, 2024, \$6,474.82
 - OLC #0511 Receiver General, dated February 05, 2024, \$142,821.16
 - OLC #0512 Manitoba Hydro, dated February 07, 2024, \$570.37
 - Employee EFTs, dated February 12, 2024, \$18,228.15
 - Cheques 31122-31151, dated February 13, 2024, \$167,895.67

Carried

Inwood School Advisory Council Request

M24.02.191 M/S M. Coverdale, A. Moman that the Board approve the request from Nadine Thorvardson from ISAC for permission to use one school bus to transport students from Inwood to Selkirk for swimming lessons from March 1-May 31, 2024 at no cost to the Division.

Carried

6. Finance

2024-2025 Budget Deliberations. Funding announcement has been received from the Province.

- 7. Governance
 - MSBA Executive Highlights February 5, 2024
 - MSBA E-News February 7, 2024
- **M24.02.192** M/S A. Moman, T. Vasylieva that the Board move into Committee of the Whole In Camera at 7:54 pm

Carried

8. In Camera

.01 Staffing Update

The Board rose and reported at 8:18 p.m.

M/S T. Vasylieva, S. Lindal that the Board appoint Sage Tozeland as Principal of Eriksdale School, 100% Term .75 Principal and .25 Teacher, effective September 3, 2024 until June 30, 2025; subject to Article 6:10 of the LTA Collective

Carried

9.	Self-Evaluation of Governance Process ar	id items for next agenda
10.	Adjournment: M. Coverdale at 8:23 p.m.	
		Donny Thorkelson, Board Chair
		Arlene Brandson Darknell, Secretary-Treasurer