The One Thousand, One Hundred and Sixty Eighth Regular Meeting of the Lakeshore School Division Board held on Tuesday, March 12, 2024, at School Division Office

Members Present: Donny Thorkelson, Chairperson; Vice Chairperson, Teresa Johnson; Allison Moman;

Tetiana Vasylieva; Shaun Lindal; Kelly Webb (online)

Members Absent with Regret: Marvin Coverdale

**Administrative Staff Present:** Darlene Willetts, Superintendent/CEO, Donald Nikkel, Superintendent of HR; Arlene Brandson Darknell, Secretary-Treasurer; Mark Parkes, Director of Operations, and Infrastructure

Administrative Staff Absent with Regret: None

- Chairperson Donny Thorkelson called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda

**M24.03.204** M/S T. Johnson, S. Lindal that the agenda be adopted as presented.

Carried

Special Meetings reported on – Negotiations (in camera)

3. Adoption of the Minutes of the last Board Meeting

**M24.03.205** M/S A. Moman, T. Johnson that the minutes of the 1167<sup>th</sup> Regular meeting held on Tuesday, March 5<sup>th</sup>, 2024 be adopted as presented.

Carried

4. Monitoring Reports

**M24.03.206** M/S T. Johnson, T. Vasylieva that the Board accepts the Equity Resourcing Data Monitoring Report as presented.

**Carried** 

5. Division Reports

**Human Resources** 

- Nicole Yanke on leave, effective June 01, 2024, until June 01, 2025
- Amber Semenek Resignation, 100% permanent Teacher at Fisher Branch Early Years School, effective June 30, 2024.
- Hiring Tamara Decelles, full-time, 8.0 hours/day, term 12-month Cleaner at Ashern Early Years & Ashern Central School, effective March 01, 2024, until September 01, 2024
- Hiring Tina Ducharme, full-time, 6.0 hours/day, term Educational Assistant at Lundar School, effective March 11, 2024, until June 27, 2024
- Hiring Vanessa Campbell, 100% Teacher, 1<sup>st</sup> Term, at Eriksdale School, effective September 03, 2024, until June 30, 2025

Decision Information – Required Approvals

Finalization of the 2024-25 Budget

M24.03.207 M/S T. Vasylieva, S. Lindal that the Board approve the 2024-25 Operating Budget in the amount of \$18,301,211 plus a transfer to the Capital Fund in the amount of \$200,000 (Bus Reserve Fund) as presented.

Carried

Approve the 2024 Special Levy

**M24.03.208** M/S T. Vasylieva, S. Lindal that the Board approve the Lakeshore School Division 2024 Special Levy in the amount of \$5,196,323 as presented.

Carried

.02 Secretary-Treasurer - Accounts Payable

- **M24.03.209** M/S A. Moman, T. Johnson that the following accounts payable cheques/direct debits and payroll vouchers be approved for payment;
  - OLC #0519 Manitoba Blue Cross, dated March 01, 2024, \$25,185.90
  - OLC #0520 Receiver General, dated March 05, 2024, \$147,576.08
  - OLC #0521 Manitoba Hydro, dated March 08, 2024, \$451.80
  - Employee EFTs, dated March 11, 2024, \$22,860.46
  - Cheques 31241-31276, dated March 12, 2024, \$193,545.50

Carried

- Ownership Linkage
- 7. Policy Development/Review

The following regulations and procedures were reviewed.

- 7.1 Regulations and Procedures
  - 5.0 Audits
  - 5.0 Authorized Signatures Cheques
  - 5.0 Electronic Meetings
- 8. Governance
  - MSBA E-News March 6, 2024
  - Child Nutrition Council of MB Stone Soup Week
- **M24.03.210** M/S A. Moman, T. Vasylieva that the Board move into Committee of the Whole In Camera at 7:32 pm

| 9.     | In Cam<br>.01<br>.02<br>.03                                     | nera<br>Staffing Update<br>Student Suspensions<br>Leave Requests                |   |
|--------|---|---|---|
|        | The Board rose and reported at 7:55 p.m.                        |   |   |
| M24.03 | 3.211   | M/S T. Vasylieva, S. Lindal that the E<br>2024 to April 25, 2024, as per reques | Board approve leave of absence without pay from March 7, st from employee 104728. |
|        |   |   | Carried   |
|        |   |   |   |
| 10.    | Self-Evaluation of Governance Process and Items for next agenda |   |   |
|        |   |   |   |
| 11.    | Adjour  | nment: A. Moman at 7:58 p.m.  |   |
|        |   |   |   |
|        |   |   | Donny Thorkelson, Board Chair   |
|        |   |   |   |

Arlene Brandson Darknell, Secretary-Treasurer